Let this little light shine…

Over the summer I became obsessed with blogs.  Maybe obsessed is too strong of a word, but seriously, I love seeing how creative people are when it comes to improving their living spaces.  Because we’re still improving our space ( oh who am I kidding–we’ll always be improving) I am always up for new ideas.  One idea I wanted to try was spray painting a lamp.  Sounds simple, I’ve done it before.  That lamp turned out great.  This time, though, I wanted to experiment with the color.  And I’m glad I did.

Knowing I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on the lamp itself, I went to a local thrift shop and bought this gem for….

That’s right.  Two bucks.  Boo-yah!

The next step was to choose the color.  Our wall color in the living room/dining room is a soft yellow.  I knew I wanted something that would “pop” with the yellow.  So…I went with a green.  But not just any green.  I went with this:

What do you think?  I paired a brown tweed shade from Wal-Mart.  At this point I think I like the shade, but I’m not completely sold. The cost of the lamp was a fraction of the cost for the lampshade and the paint.  The total cost was around $18.  I love projects like this!

Leave a Reply

