Ever since I st…

Ever since I started creating boards on Pintrest, I have almost been obsessed with finding ideas on how to better decorate our humble abode.  As you can imagine there are a lot of ideas out there.  And I have seriously thought about attempting every idea I see.  Old door for a headboard?  I’m trying to convince Adam.  Paint a sideboard a crazy color?  Hello Ace hardware!

Ok, ok.  I have since calmed myself down.  A bit.  But I still stay up way late even when I know I have breakfast duty in the morning.  Whoops. You would think at 26 years of age I would have better self control.  Nope.  My poor husband.  He puts up with so much.  🙂

Something I haven’t calmed down about is the decor in the living room.  When we first moved in I painted the walls a beautiful shade of light yellow.  Sherwin Williams Tea Light to be exact.  My mother-in-law thought I should decorate with John Deere tractors.  Instead I decorated with red; I have now learned the errors of my ways.  I’m still keeping the yellow walls (with as much space as there is and how much the paint cost), but I have now opted for more soothing coordinated colors.  Light blue, olive green, and yellow have proven to be me in a better mood when I get home from a hard day of school. 

Currently, on our east wall (in the dining room part of the big room) I have fairly bulky black frames.  When I hung them up 3 1/2 years ago I thought they looked really nice.  I’m just going to blame it on newly wed bliss.  Now when I look at them, all I can think of is “yuck”.  So…I have a new plan.  A collage complete with mirrors and new pictures.  At this point in the project I haven’t been able to collect of the pieces, but here are a few pieces:

 

Image

Image(As you can tell, I’m getting used to the settings on my new camera)

ImageAs you can tell, the mirror is reflecting our ugly, hideous, awful ceiling fan.  It was in the house when we bought it and hasn’t been a high priority.  Overall, I’m really excited about the new decor.  I’m now on the lookout when I go to Etc. Shop or Goodwill for funky, fresh decor.  Because that’s what I’m all about; funky, fresh.

Shake it up!

Leave a Reply

