Happy New Year!!

Just because it’s the last day of the year, doesn’t mean we aren’t taking it easy around our humble abode.  In fact, Adam is installing new door handles on the front and back door.  If only I could insert my face right here to show you how excited I am we’ll no longer have gross, nasty gold door handles.  

Image

 

Now we get to use these beautiful door knobs:

Image

 

I love them!!  🙂

We also just got back from a quick trip from Wichita.  I found a buffet on Craig’s list last night that will serve as a tv stand in our basement.  When I texted the owner about it, I asked if we would be able to pick it up on Saturday.  Apparently there were quite a few people interested in it as well.  I decided I couldn’t let this one get away (it’s solid wood and I got it at a steal for $65!!), so I texted back saying we would pick it up today.  Unfortunately, that meant we might be picking it up in the middle of a snowstorm in a truck with no four wheel drive.  But, I think it was worth it.  It needs some TLC, but it has character.  Right now it’s still in the back of the truck (out of the snow) because it’s so dang heavy, I wouldn’t be able to help Adam unload it.  Good thing we’re friends with strong people, right?!  I haven’t taken any pictures of it yet, because, let’s be honest, it’s cold outside.  Although, I do need to get the pumpkins to the compost pile.  They have been “living” on our porch since late September.  And are now a bit “squishy”.  Whoops!

I also had to bust out some spray paint over break.  My trigger finger was getting itchy.  So, while doing a load of laundry I couldn’t help but notice the wicker basket we use as a trash can.  When we first got married, our Wii accessories were stored in it.  Then when we moved to our house about five years ago, it ended up in our laundry room.  Where it has sat without much thought until the lint filter in the dryer needs to be emptied.  

ImageThe wicker basket on the right is the basket I’m talking about.  This is a picture of it after it had been primed.  

Image

It’s a little cuter, not exactly my favorite, but I didn’t have to buy a new waste basket.  

There are a few projects that have already made it to our imaginary list, but we’re not going to think about them quite yet.  Rather, we are going to enjoy the evening with good friends and ring in 2013.  

Happy New Year!  

 

Leave a Reply

