It’s raining, it’s pouring…

…and I’m moving furniture.  When we got home from Manhattan last night (our girls were playing in the state basketball tournament), I sat on the couch to catch up on a few e-mails.   When I looked at our tv area, it looked cluttered.  And I’m not a big fan of clutter.  So when I got up this morning I was on a mission.  To declutter our tv area and make the area a little cozier.  After moving a few pieces of furniture around (with the help of my amazing and selfless husband) I think I succeeded.  

Here are a few before pictures:

Image

Image

 

As you can probably tell this picture shows our dining area.  It works pretty well for us, but I wanted to use the buffet table for our tv.  So…

Image

 

It was cleaned out.  The dishes I bought before Adam and I were even engaged.  Mom and I found them at Target when I was a junior in college and I remember thinking “I will use them every holiday!”.  Nope.  Didn’t happen. Unfortunately, I think their next use will be on Craigslist.  

After the “purging”  and sorting of objects, Adam helped me move a few things around.  The tv was transferred from our old tv stand to the buffet.  A chair was moved from the south wall to be used in our “sitting room” and the table was moved to accommodate the larger space.  

This is what our space now looks like:

Image

 

The angle of the picture makes the area look really cramped, but in person the area feels cozy and comfortable.  Just to give you another look here is this angle:

Image

 

Adam wanted to make sure he wasn’t in the picture.  He was successful, no? 🙂

Now for the question as to what we’re going to do for the dining area.  We (ok, ok, I) took part of our dining storage away.  No need to fear.  Remember back in December when I bought this gem?

Image

 

The plan all along was to use this as a tv stand when we moved our tv to the family room.  But now that I’m really digging using the yellow buffet as a tv stand my thought now is to clean and paint this bad boy to use upstairs in the dining room.  Really, I think it could be better used as a buffet than a tv stand.  The nice thing about it is that if/when kids are running around our house, we could use it for toy storage as well as entertaining and dining items.  Of course, when the renovation of the buffet happens there will be pictures! 🙂

What are you shaking up today?

2 responses to “It’s raining, it’s pouring…

  1. I actually looked at the picture for a few seconds before I noticed Adam. I saw his feet before I saw him hiding. 🙂 I love your yellow buffet!

  2. LOVE that new buffet! It looks great, even without being “fixed up” to fit your home/style. I can’t wait to see the update – maybe this summer?!

Leave a Reply

