Christmas in…March?

I know, I know.  We’re well past Christmas time, but this weekend I finally received my completed Christmas gift from Adam.  If you don’t know Adam and I, then you should know how romantic we are.  We only get each other romantic gifts.  So what did Adam get me for Christmas this year?  A door.  And I couldn’t be more excited for it! 

Alright, so here’s the real story.  This year for Christmas Adam and I told each other we wouldn’t buy each other gifts.  We did this for several reasons.  First, we don’t really need anything.  We try to live very simple and didn’t want to buy “things” just to buy them.  Second, we didn’t really want to spend much money (ok.  that makes us sound cheap.  We are definitely not cheap).  So you can imagine how surprised I was when Adam presented me with a gift card to Home Depot.  For some women jewelry makes their eyes pop.  Home improvement gift cards have that effect on me.  This gift card wasn’t just a gift card.  It was a gift card for me to pick out my dream basement door.  

When we bought the house there was a very boring basement door that lead from the kitchen to the basement stairs.  If you know me, you know I don’t do boring.  Here is a picture of the door. You would be looking at the door coming up from the basement.Image

See what I mean?  Not much personality, right?  

So on my birthday, my dear husband took me to Home Depot where I chose the door of my dreams.  After buying and then loading the door in our truck, it has sat for three months in our basement.  Between Adam’s spring break and having a day off for Good Friday, we were able to get the door stained and hung.  

Here is what we now get to look at:

Image

 

I love it!!!

When we have door closed we are still able to get the natural light from the window.  And plus it adds so much character to our kitchen.  Our cats aren’t exactly sure what to think of the new door.  “A door we can see through?”  

Can’t wait for family to come over for Easter dinner!

 

Leave a Reply

