If you follow me on Facebook you may

If you follow me on Facebook you may have seen a new color of spray paint on a front porch chair. 

Image
I had enough of my husband’s things randomly placed all over the porch.  Fairly often, a visitor might find shoes, dirty socks, discs (as in disc golf), and even…a plunger.  I didn’t put the plunger there.  So, remembering I had an old plant stand from my college days, I decided to dust it off and make it not only a functional piece on our porch, but a somewhat attractive piece as well.  

Image

 

For you Mennonites, the design of the stand reminds me of the GC logo.  Very loosely…

It had set in our carport for five years with not much thought being given to it.  I decided it would be a good idea to deal with the rust spots on it before I painted.

Image

 

There would have been a time where I would have spray painted without really caring about the rust spots.  But I want this puppy to last a while.  Some may call it experience in spray painting; I call it maturity.  I am finally getting a handle on this “patience” thing.

Image

 

Ok, maybe I spoke too soon about being patient.  As soon as I was done painting I wanted documentation, but my camera doesn’t like taking pictures in the dark.  The above photo is proof.  Boo.  

So…I had to wait until the morning.  But I think it was worth it.  Take a gander if you will…

Image

 

I am really loving my summer porch this summer, by-the-way.  I placed the stand in the corner of the porch.  Hopefully it’s a convenient place for Mr. Spouse to put his random items (including the plunger).  If it isn’t well, back to drawing board.  

Image

 

I even set a few of his shoes (which were on the porch) on the bottom rack to prove his shoes will fit on the small stand.  No excuses mister!  🙂

Another project I completed yesterday was a project I had seen on Pintrest a few times.  A few months ago I bought a laminated fabric at Hobby Lobby (or Hob Lob as Mr. Spouse calls it).  I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it, but I had a few ideas.  If you look at the pillows on the red chairs they are made of the same fabric.  The fabric isn’t water proof, only water resistant.  So, I have to be careful about weather.  With that little tidbit of knowledge in my mind about the fabric, my attention was brought to our folding table.  

When we got married we registered for a folding table.  It’s black.  Just black.  And completely lacks personality.  If you know me, I love personality.  Laminated fabric to my rescue.  

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

I’m not sure why, but Pre decided he helped enough he needed to photographed in the after as well.  Silly kitty.  🙂

What have you been skakin’ up this fourth of July week?

 

4 responses to “If you follow me on Facebook you may

  1. I LOVE the finished folding table! I think I have that pinned, too. I’ll have to add it to my list at some point! Your front porch is adorable, too. Happy summer to you both! 🙂

Leave a Reply

