You know it’s Summer when…

…you decide to move furniture 9 o’clock at night.  A few nights ago, I kept looking at our dining room table and thought the arrangement could be better.  If it were a school night, I would have waited until the weekend to complete such a task.  But, since it’s Summer and I can stay up late with not many consequences, I put on my moving gloves and got to work.  

Remember the table I got on mom and I’s epic annual adventure?  If not, here it is, in all of it’s glory.

Image

 

The side table was bought with the intention of being by the couch.  But, it just wasn’t going to work.  Like chocolate and bacon.  No matter how much you try to make it sound good, it just isn’t.

So, with my creativeness flowing, I tried to make a flow work for our large room.  The tv/couch area has stayed the same except for a side chair.  I moved an antique rocker by the tv and love it.  The size of it fits so much better than the large green chair.

Below are the pictures I snapped during the process.  

Image

 

I like the arrangement, but the chair is too small.  So…next step.

Image

 

Liking the scale a lot better.  The lamp on the other hand, I wasn’t a fan of.  So, I shopped the lamp selection in our basement and came up with a new arrangement.

Image

 

Ahhh…so much better.  I love this little sitting area.  Just about every morning, I sit here to do my devotionals.  It’s such a great place to sit and read and be away from the tv.  I have since added a leather foot stool to use while reading.  

I should have thought through this addition a little bit more.  Not because it doesn’t look good, but because of my husband’s safety.  Love him to pieces, but being 6’5″ doesn’t necessarily allow him to see everything below him.  While he was on his way to go to the back door to let out the cats before bed, he literally did a flip over the ottoman.  Luckily only his knees and pride were injured and nothing else.  In order to prevent a future roll-over accident, I pushed the ottoman to the side when I’m not using it.  Gotta look out for my babe.  

Remember what I said about the tv area?  Here is the new look for that corner of the room:

Image

 

While there are still a few things I want to accomplish around the house before I have to go back to school, I am really happy with how “homey” the house has become this summer.  Be on the look out for a few more projects before the summer is all said and done.  

 

Leave a Reply

