The Fridge– Part 1

I love summertime.  Love it.  I love it because the temperatures are warm.  We get to go to camp.  We get to sit outside well after dark and not worry about the time because we don’t have school the next day.  But I especially love this summer because I have had time to tackle a few projects around this place.  

When you first enter our house, literally the first thing you see is our fridge.  Thankfully it’s a fairly nice fridge.  It is white, has two doors, and both of its handles.  What more could a girl ask for?  Oh, yeah, for it to NOT be the first thing you see when you enter our house.  But, since I can’t fix that right now, I decided I would make it more attractive.  At least as much as I can.  

The first part of this epic journey was to clean out the fridge.  I found a bottle of Dorothy Lynch with an expiration date of 2009.  Whoops.  On a recent trip to a discount grocery store (sounds funny, but if you’re from the area, you have to go by Meridian Grocery in Newton.  Amazing!)  I came across really cheap place mats.  Four of them for a $1 or so.  I wasn’t exactly sure what I would do with them right away, but knew I couldn’t walk away from these puppies, er place mats.  I bought them, took them home, and as soon as I walked through the front door I knew exactly what I was going to do with them.  Why?  Because the first thing I saw was the fridge.  

The drawers in our fridge are crumb magnets.  And when you pull a bottle out of the drawer you’ll find nasty, left-over, have-no-place-to-go particles of food at the bottom.  Things that make you go “blah”.  Enter in Meridian Grocery find…

Image

 

This is what I was working with…

Image

 

Puke in a basket, right?  I do clean out the fridge on a fairly normal basis.  Promise.  So, after taking every item out of the drawer, I cut my place mat to fit.  

Image

 

Cleaner and a lot cuter looking now.  Not that you can see the finished product in the next picture, but it feels much cleaner and not as gross as before.  

Image

 

Part 2 of the fridge saga deals with this side of the fridge:

Image

 

Clutter-fest 2013.  Coming to an end.  Be sure to come back tomorrow to see how I deal with this situation!  

2 responses to “The Fridge– Part 1

Leave a Reply

