Love at First Sight

I knew once my eyes laid on it, it was the one.  Everything about it was perfect. The color, the texture, everything.  Except for the price.  What had I laid my eyes on?  Fabric.  To be more specific, fabric for the spare room curtain panels.

100_2937

 

I knew I wanted colorful fabric.  Something that would go with the paint (I didn’t want to repaint.  Did it once, love the color, don’t want to do it again).  Problem was it took a while to find exactly what I wanted.  And I found it.  At Hobby Lobby a few weeks ago.  The only problem was the price.  A little pricey, but Hobby Lobby did have it 30% off the regular price, but it still wasn’t quite what I wanted to pay.  But then I found out I could use my 40% off coupon.  Boo to the yah.  The next problem I had was I didn’t feel completely comfortable sewing the curtain panels on my own.  So, I did what any person would do; I enlisted the help of my mom.

100_2943

After laying out the fabric and cutting the fabric in two panels, we set up both sewing machines.  The only thing we did to finish off the panels was to finish the edges.  This process took a while, but well worth it.

100_2946

 

The end product was great.

100_2948

Ignore the black dot.  My camera is acting up a bit.  I really like the colors and couldn’t wait to see what the panels look against our spare room walls.  Mom kept telling me I would want to paint my walls after I hung the panels.  I’ll let you be the judge here in the next few pictures.  🙂

In order to hang the panels we needed to install curtain rods.  Knowing the curtain rods didn’t need to hold a lot of weight (even with the heavy fabric, the rods didn’t need to hold much weight), I picked up two white wood rods for $9 each.

100_2992

Being the sweetheart Adam is, he helped me hang them up this afternoon.  There was a bit of prep work that needed to be done before we could get everything in place.  Prior to moving into our house, we found a random collection of nails in our walls.  The trim work was no exception in the spare room.  Weird.  In fact on the north wall, there was an arc of nails.  I don’t think I want to know what was hanging on that wall.  Ignorance is bliss.

100_2997

 

After several measurements, we used the screws that came with the curtain rods to secure it in place.

100_2998

 

Again, ignore the black dot.  I don’t know what’s going on with my camera.  But if you ever needed evidence Adam loves me, here it is.

100_3000If that isn’t true love, I don’t know what it looks like.

But in true DIY fashion lets get a look at what we started with in the room:

100_2988And the after:

100_3003

Again, the blasted black dot.  Doesn’t really exist in real life.  Overall, I really like how the panels finish off the windows.  In real life they add a coziness that makes it really comfortable to be in the room.  I like how the colors coordinate with other textures I have in the room.  So, what do you think?  Should I “shake it up” and paint the walls?  Or leave the color as is?

 

 

 

 

One response to “Love at First Sight

  1. I love the color, and I love the curtains. But, and I hate to say it, I’m not sure they go together. Maybe it’s just in the pictures, though. I’ll just have to come see it in person! 🙂

Leave a Reply

