Spicin’ Things Up in the Kitchen

Get your head out of the gutter!  I’m talking about the new spice rack Adam built for me.  Out of scrap wood.  From our chicken coop project.  (How many short sentences can I type?  Probably too many so I’ll stop while I’m ahead.)

Our current spice rack was becoming a bit overwhelming when it came to holding our spices.  Like, I don’t know how much more it could hold.  We kept shoving them on there basically playing a weird game of Tetris.  And every time we did this, I would sigh heavily.  Very heavy.  Why?  It could have to do with the fact the rack was looking REALLY cluttered.  And considering the kitchen is the first room you walk in when you enter the house, it wasn’t necessarily what I wanted our guests to see.

After all of my heavy sighing, Adam took it upon himself to make my spicy dreams come true.  Look what he built.  (With taking a look at Shanty 2 Chic’s plans)

DSC_0593

I apologize for not having “in process” pictures.  Adam decided to build this while I was working on another project.  After he built the rack, it stayed in our basement for a few months.  Why?  I don’t know.  Maybe because of school?  Maybe it was because I was tired of painting (never thought I would type that), but I needed a bit of a break.  But when we began painting our basement trim, I figured I would make smart use of my time and paint this bad boy.  While I was at it, I decided to paint the inside of the rack a light blue.  You know, to add some whimsy.  P.Allen eat your heart out.

But I wasn’t done when I painted.  I figured while I was taking the time to paint, I would add just a bit more to the project.

Say hello to my little friend.

DSC_0597This friend always sticks with me.  🙂

I picked up some inexpensive scrapbook paper at Wal-Mart to use on the bottom of the shelves.  I thought the colors coordinated with the kitchen colors well enough without competing with the other patterns.

DSC_0594

Cute, playful.  Just my style.

Then it came time to cut the paper to size and adhere the paper to the shelf.  I used the Modge Podge to add a protective layer on the paper.  I’m not anticipating having to wet wipe the shelves down.  Just an occasional dry wipe will due every once in a while.

DSC_0595

Here’s a view from the front:

DSC_0596Immediately after this picture was taken, Adam hung up on the inside door of our pantry.  It works wonderfully!  Not only do we have our bulky spices off of our old spice rack, but we were also able to move our gallon bags, foil, saran wrap, and parchment paper to the bottom shelf.

So, what do you think?  Should we make another rack to add to the other door and do away with the spice rack above our sink?

Leave a Reply

