The Christmas Break List…dun, dun, dun!

Don’t judge me.  I don’t have all of my assessing for grade cards done and I’m already thinking about what I’m going to have on my to-do list for Christmas break.  There are things around the house that I haven’t been able to get to because we have both been so dang busy with school.  Definitely not a bad thing, but the house has really been neglected.  Hence the break I have taken from the blog since Thanksgiving.

There just wasn’t enough time in the day! 🙂

But now that I know things are going to slow down for a good chunk of time, I want to make sure I make great use of it.  So tonight, after I got home, I took a quick assessment of what I want to get done.

In no particular order they are:

1.  Spare Room

DSC_0259

This room is a mess.

Just a mess.

So my plan in here is to pick it up and turn it into a playroom for our niece and nephews.  And, no it won’t be used for a little one anytime soon.  No bun in the oven yet.  🙂

2.  Sew curtains for the guest bedroom

DSC_0261

I have had this fabric for over two months.  And it’s time to get them sewn and hung.  It’s going to happen.

3.  Lower the shower curtain rod

We are totally digging our extended shower curtain.  You know, in the I’m-so-glad-buckets-of-water-aren’t-gushing-out-from-the-shower kind of way.  However, if the rod were lowered just an inch or so, it would look so much better!

DSC_0262And if you were wondering, the spots on the rug are water spots, but the dirt in the grout is from the cats.  Oh, cats.

4.  Paint the basement door

Basement Door

Before we moved into our new basement room, I painted the exterior and interior of the basement door.  For whatever reason, I didn’t finish painting the trim in the window.  Who knows?  Maybe it was time to…oh, heck there’s no excuse.  That’s one little detail that is going to get fixed!

5.  Board and Batten

This is a total dream project and probably won’t happen, but a girl can dream, right?  After spending an evening with some friends in their family room, I was totally inspired to add a bit of detail to our family room.  In our friend’s family room they had paneling that went up more than halfway on their walls.  And it looked really sharp.  So sharp even Adam agreed with me.

So, I quickly put together what it could look like in our basement.  (Just to warn you, it’s not accurate to the scale of our wall.  Like, at all.  But it gives you a big of an idea of the detail I’m hoping to add to our Family room.)

Board and BattanMy thinking is that we would add this the east, west, and south walls of the room.  I found two shelving units on the Ikea site that will fit almost perfectly on either side of the fireplace.  We’ll just trim them out and batta-bing, batta-boom, we’ll have custom looking bookcases for a fraction of the cost.

An issue with this project is that we have poured concrete walls in this room which means I will have to pre-drill holes in the wall before we can attach anything to the wall.  Sounds like a lot of work, but I think it would be so worth it!

Before I can get anything done on this list, I have to finish my school stuff.  So it’s back to grading, assessing, and more grading.  Then a movie day Friday morning, grade cards in the afternoon, and then it’s time to celebrate with family.  Then on to my list.  Speaking of the list, who thinks I can do all of the things on my list?  🙂  Yeah, I’ll be excited if I can do at least three of the items…

Anyone else have items on their lists?  Do I need to add anything else to my list?  And on the topic of lists, what all have you asked for Christmas?

Leave a Reply

