Traditions

Not only were we busy visiting family during the Christmas season, but we were busy catching up with old friends before the New Year.  In fact, these gatherings have become traditions for us.

One such tradition is our annual bierock making escapade.  Adam’s cousin and wife, Aaron and Brit (good friends of ours you read about here), along with their little guy, come from Wyoming back home.  We take full advantage of this trip by getting together to make a few dozen or so of bierocks.

How many exactly?

Oh, like at least 10 dozen.

This year Aaron’s twin sister (a good friend of mine) and her husband were able to join us.  So with six adults and 3 KitchenAid mixers we were able to accomplish a lot in a short amount of time.  In the past years we have made them at our house or Aaron and Mariah’s mom’s house.  This year we took over our church’s kitchen.  It was awesome to have the space!

DSC_0416Aaron is really impressed with what sugar looks like in a white bowl.  It’s the little things in life.  🙂

DSC_0419

It really is serious busy when it comes to making the dough.  I use the same sweet dough recipe that was used to make the bierocks to make zweibach.  A few years back, I made the most beautiful rolls you ever saw.  Seriously.  The tops didn’t fall of of them at all.  Which is a major feat for me.  It wasn’t until I took a bite of the bread for a taste test, I realized I forgot one ingredient.

Salt.

Since then I make sure everything goes in.  And when I do this, I get a super serious look on my face like you see above.  It’s not rocket science!

DSC_0420Our church has a baking proofer which allowed our dough to rise like it never has in the past.  #raisetheroofdough!

Which produced these beautiful buns.  Almost as beautiful as Adam’s buns.  But…I digress.

DSC_0421

Once the rolls rose again, we were able to fill them with the meat mixture.  When I say meat mixture, I don’t mean the meat mixture that Aldi’s sells (think horse meat mixed with beef.  GROSS.), but meat mixed with cabbage, cheese, and onion.

DSC_0422

*Side note here.  We had a mature conversation while we were busy filling the buns.  Were we talking about the affairs of the state and how education could be affected?  No.  We were talking about how one forms a bierock.

DSC_0425

Guess which one Adam filled.  It was also the last one he filled.  He got kicked off the line.

Once the rolls were filled, they went into the oven for 20 or so minutes.

And…

Voila!!!

DSC_0424

DSC_0427

TEN DOZEN BIEROCKS!!!

Sorry, I didn’t mean to yell at you, but we were all super pumped about our work.

You may think, oh, man that’s a lot of work, did you take a nap afterwards?

The answer would be no.  Why?

Because we are crazy.  No other explanation.

But, if I could offer an explanation, it would be because we had another tradition to get ready for; our annual New Year’s Eve gathering.

We had a smaller gathering than we’ve had in the past, but we still had a great time!

DSC_0432

Beside the traditional snacks, I set up our chocolate fountain.  My mom got this for me for my birthday last year and I thought it was high time I put it to use.

If you want proof Sof and I are related, take a look at this picture:

DSC_0429

With this year’s group we had quite a few kiddos which was awesome.  Knowing there would be more kids in our house than there are on the average night, I set up our spare room as a play room.

DSC_0438

DSC_0439

DSC_0440

DSC_0434

We had a great time of games, food, and lots of laughter!  Our guests didn’t leave until 1am!

The next morning Adam and I headed to our third tradition; New Year’s cookies!

As long as I can remember, my grandma has always made these delicious fried cookies to celebrate the new year.  We typically meet at my grandma’s house, but this year we had a different location.  My mom’s house.

DSC_0448

DSC_0450

DSC_0452

DSC_0453

DSC_0454

Once all the dough was fried, my aunts, uncles, and cousins gathered around the table to eat more greaseballs than we should.  🙂

And then of course there are games to be played afterwards.

DSC_0456

*Another side note:  Nash’s birthday is this Saturday and Adam and I have something up our sleeves for him.  We can’t wait for him to open our gift!  Like, I’m dancing around right now just thinking about it!!

So these are a few traditions we have in our family.  I would love to hear what you do with your families!  Are there any other traditions we should start?

Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

