Just Some Things….

The past month has been a whirlwind of activity in our house.

Middle school boys’ basketball season is winding down.

State Scholar’s Bowl is next weekend.

SCHOOL.

We took a quick trip to California last weekend for a board meeting.

SCHOOL.

Church activities.

SCHOOL.

And, now, as we begin to roll into February, I find that I’m in a really weird mood.  Not, that that’s completely unusual…but, I feel like I have a lot on my mind.  And considering I have this blog as an outlet for my thoughts (whether they be weird, inspiring, whatever) I just need to type them out.  Seriously.  🙂

So in no particular order, here’s what I think has put me in a weird mood…..

*Student loan debt

While straightening my hair this past week, I began really thinking how bad my student loan debt is.  (My hair is thick and long which provides me a good amount of time to really think or not think about things every few days.  Random fact.) Really.  I have $30,000 in student loan debt and that’s after $5,000 will be forgiven this spring.  And now I am actually listening to news reports that say student loan debt is a really bad debt to have.  It’s right up there with credit card debt mainly because it will never, ever go away.  So I began devising a plan that will hopefully pay this debt down faster.  Hopefully by the time I retire.  Maybe.  I hope.  Is anyone else out there dealing with this crazy debt?  Anything you’re doing that’s helping you pay it down faster?

*Teaching

I am going to state a fact first.  In fact, I will bold and italicize the statement just so you know.

I LOVE MY JOB.  I DON’T KNOW WHAT ELSE I WOULD DO IF I DIDN’T TEACH.

But, I seriously question how much longer I will be able to do what I feel I have been called to do in life.  With severe budget cuts due to our governor’s inadequacies, it is getting to be extremely difficult to do my job, excuse me, my passion. And unfortunately, there are still people who don’t get it.  There are extraordinary teachers who are leaving the profession.  And it doesn’t seem like our state government really cares.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; it’s one thing to take my salary down to nearly pebbles, but it is something entirely different to mess with my kids.  Your kids.  OUR kids.

*Babies

Still not pregnant.  And somehow I am incredibly calm about it.  At times it is still a daily struggle to make sure our baby (hopefully babies) are in God’s hands.  But I have extreme hope we will be able to meet our baby soon.  In January we stepped it up another notch in the fertility treatment by having an IUI procedure.  I really hoped we didn’t have to get to that step, but we did.

And it didn’t work.

So, we’re at the point in the journey where we need to take a break for us.  To say we’re tired is an understatement, but yet we are still faithful that we will be welcoming a little one home soon.

*House Projects

I have a million ideas floating around in my head and practically no project money to make them happen.  Don’t worry, as usual I think I may have a way of getting these projects done.  It will just take a little longer than I expected.  Which is completely normal.  🙂

Ok, so that’s it.  That’s what has been on my mind and it’s amazingly calming to have written it out.

But what’s a blog post with just words?  That’s right, it’s boring.  And not being a boring person, I had to throw in a few pictures!  🙂

IMG_20150131_162318

IMG_20150201_092636

Much love.  In fact, a lot of love.

5 responses to “Just Some Things….

  1. Don’t ever leave us Mrs. Robb! Our kiddos need you and we all need your crazy sense of humor! Prayers continue for the little Robb baby that God has planned for you. ❤

  2. College debt. Oh boy. We will be facing that all too soon & it scares the crap outta me, honestly. In fact, it makes my tummy hurt. Daycare & para jobs don’t bring in that kind of money, but I, too, continue to have faith. I look forward to your ornery smile each day at school! You & Adam are both amazing people & God has such a special plan for you!

  3. Pingback: Money, Money, Money….MONEY!! | School House Shake Up·

Leave a Reply

