A Little Wordle Dordle

Continuing my month of “Self”, I decided to put together a gift for Adam that would make us both focus on places that are important to us individually.

There were two frames I bought clear back in November that coordinate with other things in our room.  I really liked them.  A lot.  The only thing was that I literally took them out of the Target bag, hung them on the wall, admired my work, and then walked away.  I was just really proud I had hung them without using a level and they were fairly level.  Normally that doesn’t happen.  Usually it’s crooked.  I think one of my legs is shorter than the other even though I’ve never noticed me having an odd gait.

But no more!  Empty frames, that is.

So, how did I incorporate the important places for both of us and use the frames?

By creating a Wordle.

And it was super simple.

The first step was to question Adam about his special places.  I felt like I had a good idea, but most definitely wanted to double check.  So, while eating lunch one day, I casually asked Adam about the places he found important.  Batta-bing, batta-boom.  I then took some time to think about places that were really important to me, that have shaped who I am.

I then went to the wordle site and typed in my information:

DSC_0682It looks a bit bizarre, but just wait.  It gets better!  I did have to do one Wordle project at a time making sure I had it printed before I closed the tab.  Otherwise the website doesn’t save your information.  Which can be pretty annoying when your computer freezes or your cat turns your computer off when he walks over the keyboard.  Ok, that didn’t really happen.  Just wanted to make sure you were still reading.  😉

Once the words were entered in, I chose the font and color palette that I thought would look neat-o with our bedroom colors.

DSC_0685

And this is what Adam opened on Valentine’s Day:

DSC_0686

Both pictures hang above our bed downstairs.  They’re basically our name tags for which side of the bed we sleep on.  Not that we need to be reminded.  If I slept on the “wrong” side, I’m not sure I could sleep.  Seriously.  I’m such a creature of habit.

The thing I like about this project is that as we get older and we have experiences that continue to shape who we are, we’ll be able to switch out the picture pretty easily.

So what do you think?  What places are special for you or your family?

5 responses to “A Little Wordle Dordle

Leave a Reply

