Money, Money, Money….MONEY!!

It’s the beginning of March (at least that’s what I’m telling myself) and it’s time for a new focus.  If you remember the month of February was all about self.  You can read more about the project here. I felt like I did a pretty good job with this goal.  I definitely made more of an effort to take time for myself and even begin to read a book.  And, Lori, I’m sad to tell you I’m not done with Wild even though I am thoroughly enjoying Cheryl Strays accounts!

This month the focus is on money.

You know, the topic no one wants to talk about.

So why do I want to focus on money?  Because I like alliterations.  And because it’s time that I make sure I am truly making smart financial decisions.

So, I have thought of a few things that I think will help me and us.

*Inquire about a home insurance quote

We have had the same insurance agent since we got married.  I have been nothing but happy with the service, but we never took another look at another agency to make sure we weren’t overpaying for coverage we need.

*Produce a living will

While we have beneficiaries listed on important accounts, we haven’t specified what would happen with personal property if either one of us would suddenly pass away.  This is something that I don’t necessarily want to think about, but through personal experience I know this is an unfortunate reality.

I always thought we would pay a lawyer to do this, but after talking with a fiend she told me about a website called Legal Zoom.  While we don’t have a lot of property or other things, I still think it is important to make sure we have things in order for our loved ones.

*Start my own business

Ok, so I’m not starting it from scratch, but you did read that right.  Over the last few weeks I have been going through training to become a Mary Kay consultant.  While I don’t anticipate making it a full time job (I love what I do!), I do anticipate it to help me pay down the dreaded student loan debt.

Mary Kay picI have ordered my product as well as received my starter kit and I am ready for orders!  🙂

*Food Budget

Inflation is a bit of a jerk when it comes to buying groceries.  So, this month I want to be more aware of how much we’re putting towards food.  A few years ago, we had a month we where only ate out for Sunday lunch.  It was actually a really great experience.  It made us realize that we don’t have to eat out every Friday or whenever we feel like it.  We did really well with creating a food plan for the week and sticking to that plan.

*Quit complaining about how little/much I make

I am awful about this.  I am easy to complain to people about this and it’s embarrassing.  Embarrassing of how little I make for someone who has a Master’s degree and that I choose to focus on this aspect.  But, really there isn’t much I can do about it.  What I can do is make sure that our money is being spent wisely and (wait for it) intentionally.

So what else am I missing?  Anything else we should take a look at to help us save money?

8 responses to “Money, Money, Money….MONEY!!

  1. Sounds like you have a lot of the main things covered. A good post. I have heard of Legal Zoom, but have never checked it out. Maybe we should. I hope you do well with your Mary Kay business. I don’t do make up any more, but I am always in need of good face cream. I get with you. Love the post. 🙂

  2. You will be an awesome consultant!

    I love how transparent you are being about your thoughts/feelings on finances. I think we are too afraid to talk about money, especially struggles, and need to get over it!

    Also, let me know what you think of Legal Zoom. We need to get on that will thing.

Leave a Reply

