April Aesthetics Update

You know, it’s only the middle of May.  It’s probably time I update you on my Intentional Project.  Heck, you may have thought I forgot about it.  I promise, I didn’t.  And I’ll save you from the excuses.  Other than a bag of chocolate doughnuts may have distracted me.  😉

If you remember correctly, there were a few things on my list to accomplish this month.

First up was the flower bed on the north side of the house.

DSC_0957One night after school I was just in the mood.  The only problem was Adam wasn’t around to help and I was dog tired.  I felt good about the six bricks I laid down.  So the next night I knew I had to get it done.  It’s just a flower bed, right?  🙂

So with Adam’s help and “picky-ness” of how the bricks were being laid (I love that about him.  Seriously.  We’re two kindred spirits).

DSC_0975It must have been the high I got from us finishing laying the brick, I literally walked around the yard trying to remember what else was on my list.  A beautiful evening + productive feeling = a HAPPY Jill.

So the next thing I saw was our sweet little chicken coop and a light that was just begging to be hung.  DSC_0978I hung this baby all by myself.  Got out the big ladder, climbed up, defied the laws of gravity (aka didn’t fall off), used a power tool, and hung it so it’s somewhat level.  I may or may not have patted myself on the back afterwards.  🙂

While I didn’t get as much done as I anticipated, it felt great to work out in the yard. And it gave me some time to think about what I want to focus on this month.  And, yep, I figured out what my focus is.  Stay tuned for another blog post about this!

But before I leave you, I wanted to show you how our spirea busted out this year.

DSC_0952A few years ago I was unbelievably tempted to rip these suckers out.  No more!

DSC_0954Happy Spring!!

Leave a Reply

