Lightin’ It Up!

This family room is going to get finished before I retire.

Seriously.

I keep making a few changes here and there mainly to keep the momentum going.  Because objects that are in motion stay in motion.  It’s science.

After cleaning out our storage areas a few weeks ago, I came across a large lamp.  Being in the purging mood, I immediately put it in the give-away pile.  One more thing outta the house!  But, then I really looked at it and realized the family room needs a beefy lamp and this one was already ours.  Why buy another one?

DSC_0856I have the matching lamp upstairs by the couch, but this poor guy had just been sitting in a plastic tub for the last four years.  Everyone together… awwwww.

After this find I had to make a trip into town and one of the stops included Target.  I hate it when I have to run errands.  😉  I love stalking shopping the clearance aisle.  And that fateful day in Target was no exception.  Why?  Because I found this!

DSC_0855And all of God’s people said AMEN.

DSC_0854

Once the lampshade made it back to our abode, the next decision was what spray paint to use.

Decisions, decisions.

Don’t worry this one was kind of easy.  I didn’t want a color that would compete with our media cabinet, but I did want a color that would make a little bit of a statement.

DSC_0857

I am really digging this color.  A few months ago I picked up a wicker chair from the side of the road someone wanted to throw away and painted it this color.  It looks awesome.  And it looks even better in my classroom.  So, I knew the color would look really sharp on the lamp.

I took it outside to the spray paining spot.  I wish I was kidding.  There’s a patch of dead grass that I’ve claimed as mine for projects.  Adam is happy to oblige.  🙂

Two coats of spray paint, lamp shade placed, and lamp set on the side table later the lamp has found its place.

DSC_0864

So I have to ask, should I paint the cord?  Or just leave it?

Hope you have an awesome weekend!

Leave a Reply

